1202 E. Sonterra Blvd. Suite 503, San Antonio, TX | Directions 7825829.613712 -98.475893
Monday 9am to 5pm
Tuesday - Thursday 9am to 8pm
Friday 9am to 5pm
Saturday 9am to 5pm
Neighborhoods: Northeast San Antonio, Stone Oak
Provided by CityGrid
Select Stylists are featuring their Highlights or Color talents at SPECIAL Weekday prices from $89 to $125.
Not impressed – I've been to this salon before and was happy with the service I received from Lauren. This time, I was very dissatisfied with the service I received from Melissa.
I called to set up an appointment with Lauren but was offered one with Melissa, whom I hav read positive reviews of, so I took it. I came in for color and a simple cut. Melissa sat with me and asked what I was looking for then said very little after that. I pretty much sat quietly in my chair the entir time. However, she was nice enough to offer me the weekday special that I asked about when I called even though she never really offers it because she's a master stylist. The "deal" was only $20 off what she normally charges.
After a very dull and rather boring experience, I came out with a color that was just fine. The cut was shorter than I wanted, and the way she styled it was horrible. Literally, I was embarrassed to walk out of there. Melissa told me not to wash it for two days but I had no choice but to wash it as soon as I got home and re-style it myself. I felt like it was such a waste of $200. I thought I found a trust-worthy salon but now i am too nervous to ever go back. :(
Update: I must acknowledge how nice the salon was in acknowledging my dissatisfaction upon reading my review. I think they handled this situation with respect and integrity. It made me believe they deserve another chance.
We apologize that your last visit to the salon did meet or exceed your expectations. The entire staff works very hard to live up to our reputation for excellent services and results, but sometimes we fall a little short. Your acknowledgement of the color being to your liking is greatly appreciated, but there is no excuse for our staff not creating the haircut you desired. Thank you for letting us know that you were not happy with your results, and we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to correct the problem with your haircut. Our salon wants to know immediately when any guest is not happy with either a service or product,we truly appreciate the opportunity to correct the issue and make our guest happy.
Hair Studio Sonterra
Elsa's the Best! – I recently had an obligation suddenly arise at which I needed to look good. Although it was her day off, Elsa came to the salon and spent hours doing my eyelashes, coloring my hair and giving me a new style. It made such a difference in the meeting the next day. Even the opposition told me that I looked great, and I am convinced that the extra bit of confidence that my appearance gave me allowed me to perform better and gain an advantageous over the other party. I cannot thank Elsa enough, and appreciate that she would forgo her own time off to help a client. She is simply the best!
Love the freindly service & wonderful products – I have had three haircuts here and will not go anywhere else. The entire staff is friendly, accomodating and extremely talented. Each time I have been, a different person has cut my hair, and each time without fail, they did a stellar job. The products they use are wonderful as well......LOVE the Keratase hair products!!!
Pros: Talented staff of professionals
My salon is a keeper! – I came to this salon after more than a dozen years of salon hopping. I was never quite satisfied at any other salon. Either I received a great cut or a decent (livable) color. But never both.
Best Customer Service Ever & Great Work! – First of all, let me just say how happy I am that you can make appointments online and get a prompt email reply from Hair Studio Sonterra! I have a toddler and find it difficult to sneak away during the day to make phone calls, so this is especially convenient for me! Anyway....
I cannot say enough good things about this salon! First of all, everyone who works here is so nice! From the minute you walk in the door, they are very accommodating and make sure you are comfortable during your time in the salon, from start to finish. My first experience at the salon was with Cheri. She was very nice and went above and beyond to attempt a coloring technique on my hair that she had never done before (with some assistance from Lauren, who was also very nice and helpful!) In the end, I was unhappy with the results -- not because of any mistakes on Cheri's part, the color just wasn't as light as I had been wanting. I emailed the salon (after hours, on a Friday evening) asking if my color could be fixed and received a response within hours, scheduling me for a new appointment the next morning! They were so amazing about the whole situation! They didn't make me feel guilty for having my hair done again, for free, and they even gave me some goodies for my trouble (though I wouldn't call it trouble at all!) This time my stylist was Lisa and she was amazing! She was very friendly and made sure my hair ended up exactly like I wanted. I could not be happier with the whole experience and would absolutely recommend this salon to anyone!
A wonderful experience and beautiful place – I'm in constant pursuit of finding "the salon" that will make me come back for more, and I believe it's just ended. I left Studio Sonterra in love with my hair for the first time in a long time. I went in there desperately wanting to fix my color but with no idea of what I wanted as the end result and open to suggestions. Lauren was awesome! She is excellent with color. Before we started she talked with and explained what she thought would look best and the process involved. My hair looks healthy and the color looks completely natural. So after Lauren is done with color then I got a cut from Debbie Jo who is also very talented. It's a quiet and comfortable salon with a modern look. I spent the better part of my afternoon at the salon and it was very pleasant and relaxing experience. Another thing that I wasn't expecting was how nice everyone was. Even the other customers were friendly and quick to smile. Oh, and the prices aren't that bad either. I'm definitely going back and if the experience the second time is as good as the first I'll be making this salon my one and only.
Walk-ins apparently take precedence – I've been going to the Hair studio for approximately 2 years now so you can imagine my total disgust at how rude they were when I walked in for my appointment which was scheduled for 2pm. I gave the girl at the front my name and she said Lisa would be right with me. I sat down and in walks a little teenage girl and says, "I just called a few minutes ago for me and my two sisters. You guys said you could fit us right in." Of course I'm not concerned because I just figure they're going to see another stylist. I couldn't have been more wrong.
Lisa comes out, not saying anything to me and says, "I can take you all now." Are you kidding me! Three haircuts before mine and I had an appointment booked for 10 weeks, since my last appointment. Of course the woman at the front doesn't say a thing to me either. I go up and see what is going on and she says well my assistant is going to get you started.
So this assistant comes up and says we we're going to give you a complementary deep conditioning treatment, which I don't need. She says they are running a little behind. Of course you are, you just took three walk-ins during my appointment slot! Are you kidding me?!!!!
Bottom line, appointments mean nothing here. They will just put a walk-in during your time and figure that you don't care. Probably the worst customer service I have experienced in a long time. Nobody even apologized. Let's just say I would never recommend this place.
You are very important to us. There was definitely a misunderstanding or miscommunication that occurred and we apologize. The appointments that Lisa handled before you were for Feathers, which takes approximately 5 minutes. Lisa should have talked to you herself immediately to let you know that this was a quick appointment that would in no way interfere or delay your appointment, and made sure that you were ?OK? with that arrangement. We understand that you did not understand exactly what was going on and the staff failed miserably in communicating with you. We hope you will give Lisa and the salon the opportunity to apologize by arranging a complimentary haircut. Please contact the salon to schedule a convenient time for you. Your input is valued as we are always striving to improve.
Hair Studio Sonterra
Time Well Spent – I drive about 30 min to get to Hair Studio Sonterra, I truly love it. The welcoming feel of the Salon and the staff is great, but I love my stylist Mary and would drive a hour for her!! I've lived in Houston and Dallas for many years and have had various stylists. I'm a very meticulous about my hair color, Mary is fabulous with color and gets it right every time!! I've been cursed with curly hair but recently Lisa changed all that, she introduced me to Keratin Treatment ....My hair is amazing, healthy, shiny and straight everyday! I think I'll never go to curly again.
Poor Service and Hair Skills – I have been searching for a salon in San Antonio as I have just moved here. I read reviews on citysearch to find a great salon that everyone was buzzing about. I ran across Hair Studio Sonterra and saw some great reviews. So, I decided to try them out.
I called to make an appointment and the young lady that answered the phone was very nice, and I told her what I needed done. She immediately told me that Debbie was the best for that. She told me that I would be double booked (highlights/hair color processing on another client while my hair was cut) but Debbie works fast and would spend the time with me since I am a new client. I expressed concern that I did not want to be rushed and the receptionist assured me that she would not. So, I booked an appointment. I got there at the time I was supposed to and the salon looked great. I was expecting a pleasant experience. I sat there for 23 minutes before Debbie came and got me. I was not too mad. Then she cut on my hair for literally 3-4 minutes and said ok this looks great. I told her it looked the same as when I came in. Right there, I noticed she was rushing and prided herself on being fast...also, trying to get back to her highlight/color client. She then started cutting on my hair more. It looked better but she kept saying this looks good and spins me around as if she was wanting me to leave. I wanted to see the back of my hair and she provided the mirror and I noticed that my neckline was not even at all. I pointed it out and she said "oh, I didn't even check that" and laughed. Again, shows she was rushing me out of her chair. By this time, I was just irritated. My hair looked a little better than when I came in but not perfection like my old stylist. She was hesitant to even styling my hair. She acted like it inconvenienced her. She did not even wash my hair when I got there or when I left. I am use to high end salons washing your hair when you get there and when you leave. The prices did not scare me...I pay more at other places, however, for what you get it still is not worth it. To top everything off, when I left she barely said bye let alone a thank you for coming in etc... as she was walking down the hall to her other client. She was not personable at all and showed that other clients were more important than me.
It seems as if most salons I have been into in the San Antonio area have lost customer service mentality and quality of work. This salon was very friendly as far as the receptionist goes and is a nice looking salon; however, when your stylists do not do quality work and are not very personable/friendly....it will hurt the business. My salon search continues......
You are very important to us and your satisfaction is our priority. San Antonio is a wonderful place to live and we want you to feel good about yourself and your experience at the salon. Debbie is truly one the finest haircut stylists in the city, her razor cuts are well known and sought after. We deeply apologize if your experience did not meet your expectations and the results less than outstanding. We would appreciate the opportunity to earn your business and respect. Please contact our Salon Director - Yvonne and she will personally handle a complimentary cut and styling that will return that smile to your face.
I have been going to see Jen for several years at Hair Studio Sonterra. I am currently getting extentions and color. Jen has always been accommodating to my specific needs and personality while at the same time giving her own input. Her professionalism, technique, and personality cannot be matched. I would confidently recommend her to anyone, whether it be for simple hair cut/style or for a dramatic change.
Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!
Do you have a review of Hair Studio Sonterra on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:
The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.
To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.